Dressing my Age: A Sartorial Rant

How do you do that anymore, especially in summer? OK, I tend to dress “Victorian Age” or “Escapee from the 1980s,” but I look at the way people dress, and I wonder what ever happened to aging with dignity when outside the home.

I know, I’m not one to talk. My closet is Odd in Odd ways, including a distinct fondness for sensible shoes. Yes, I have worn walking shoes with long skirts. Yes, maneuverability over fashion. I’ve reached the age and mindset where I don’t really care all that much about certain things, including keeping up with trends, other than knowing what to look out for on Casual Day at Day Job.

Unfortunately, we have gone back to “dress children like adults,” in the worst way. And a lot of adults dress like they are still in their 20s, in ways that are neither flattering nor appropriate, in my opinion. I get it, loose clothes or stretchy clothing are comfortable. And the world is a more casual place than it was 10, 20 year ago. [Saves related rant for later]. If you are doing construction work and break for lunch, or are a young mother with a small herd all trying to go in random directions as you run an errand, you’re not going to dress up. My hat is off to you, and I so get that. But those folks still look like adults.

I’m thinking of the matrons who dress like 16 year olds. Male styles tend to be somewhat more graduated in that teens look like kickers or “gantsta” wanna-bes, then they move to more expensive versions of the same, then sweats or shorts and a tee shirt (or untucked overshirt and tank top), and eventually tee-shirt and jeans/shorts/sweats. But a 40-something trying to look like a teenaged male in baggy shorts, tank-top and cover shirt with fancy sneakers? Um … At least we’ve been spared some of the really outré male styles. Leggings for guys never caught on out here, aside from hard-core runners and cyclists. (Once someone suggested imagining a local county sheriff in leggings. Two people laughed and the rest of us shuddered in horror.)

I wonder if, comfort and ease aside, part of it is a shift from thinking outward to thinking inward. I was brought up to consider how other people would react to me, and to show respect for others. That included respecting myself enough to generally be tidy, neatly dressed as appropriate for the task at hand, and polite. It took a little more effort, but that’s part of being an adult. Over time, it becomes ingrained. Today, the predominate culture seems inward focused, more about the individual’s desires. To be yourself means dressing as you want, behaving as you want, and that’s just how it is. “Society” needs to conform to the individual’s right to be casual, to a sort of aggressive egalitarianism. I’m probably misreading a lot, since I’ve given up on trying to follow all the current trends in style, manners, on-line vs. in-person behavior, and so on. I function in a different mental world than do normal people.

We joke about “I may grow older but I refuse to grow up,” and “I adulted today!” People have complained about adults who don’t act like adults going back to … probably just before pairs of animals started marching toward a large boat, or Og insisted on playing with a stick and hoop instead of grinding ocher for wall paint. Since legal adulthood keeps being pushed later and later, it seems as if sartorial and mental adulthood suffers the same fate. Being an adult is something to be delayed and avoided, rather than embraced as a privilege. Clothing and mannerisms make that visible.

26 thoughts on “Dressing my Age: A Sartorial Rant

  1. I think that some people have a mental image of themselves that does not fit reality. It is not unique to this day and age. I always liked the Victorian phrase, “Mutton dressed as lamb.”

    Leggings are a good example. Any flaws in a woman’s figure on public display. No, ladies, you have not retained that teenage figure. My teen years were the Age of the Miniskirt. Same problem.

    • VERY apt phrase!

      Leggings and yoga pants are fine if your figure allows, however, some should check the fabric sheerness making such a public display.

      • There really needs to be a Spandex Police.

        I’ve been seeing this at conventions for 30 years, both sexes.

  2. I saw one of those “awkwards” while out for breakfast, this past Friday. A Woman of an Age To Know Better, in a fuschia dress cut too high, too low, and far too tight. Of course, she had a matching hair dye streak.

    Realized it was my second mug of coffee; I was awake and it was not a nightmare. 60 was the new 60, not the new 19.

  3. I want people to look in a mirror, check for any peeping undergarments, and fix that.

    Also, guys, pull those pants up. You may find a glimpse of the fairer sex’s underwear enticing. But trust me, Calvin Klein lied. The sight of your underwear puts a damper on any female ardor, and may even shunt a previously favorable impression into “don’t wanna, don’t wanna, oh please let me get out of here before I hurl.”

    • Males with underwear showing and pants hanging low do not look like men; they look like a baby with a load in its diapers.

    • Aye… an (attractive, or at least not unattractive) gal seeming to wear only a long shirt? Sexy.

      ANY guy seeming to wear only a long shirt? CREEPY.

  4. Some of it is “I’ll dress like I want!”, but I have come to realize that most people are not taught how to dress to the occasion, and simply purchase what is available, assuming.

    Recently went clothes shopping in the big city, and am convinced the people designing everyday clothes either 1) have no idea what they are doing, or 2) hate the people they are dressing. Most women’s clothes I saw were hideous, and the plus-size designs were even worse.

  5. Yeah, 50 year old ‘cheerleader’ moms are NOT cute… We were always taught to ‘dress for success’, not look like we’ve dug through the dirty clothes for the ‘cleanest’ torn stuff to put on.

  6. Some of it is “I’ll dress like I want!”, but I have come to realize most people are not taught how to dress to the occasion, and simply purchase what is available, assuming “it’s the style”.

    Recently went clothes shopping in the big city, and am convinced the people designing everyday clothes either 1) have no idea what they are doing, or 2) hate the people they are dressing. Most women’s clothes I saw were hideous, and the plus-size designs were even worse.

    • I have to agree. The last time I went clothes shopping in a regular department store (some years ago) I walked right back out again without buying anything. Everything available was Weekend Club Slut style. Ugly Slut Style. Ugh.

      ATM I’m getting by with online orders of very plain clothes when I have to get something not to be ragged in public. I know I’m out of style, but at least I am semi-decently dressed!

      • Thirded, plus the different views on what “appropriate” even is.

        Way too many of the self-appointed experts have absolutely zero experience with trying to do basic tasks in the clothing they demand folks wear as a matter of course.

        I am a mom, and I wear jeans and a t-shirt as my uniform, usually with combat boots. However, they are clean and well mended, if I’m in public, and the boots are evenly blackened if not shined, and any odd splotches are recently acquired. (I think my kids may manifest peanut butter….)

        I do actually have some rather nice skirts, long because nobody wants to look at my legs including me, even have pockets, and I cannot do most of my basic daily tasks wearing them.

        Someone wants me to wear a skirt all the time? Better be stepping up to do an acceptably good job of all the things I cannot do.

        My husband is VA-100% disabled; he is not going to be getting down to crawl under things, much less doing it fifteen times a day.

        • Yes, this. Fortunately my job simply requires Wear Uniform Piece plus closed-toed shoes and shirts with no design on them. Clean jeans and t-shirts/ longsleeves in colder months are perfectly acceptable, and I’m lucky enough to be able to find things that reasonably fit online. So far, anyway. Getting good shoes keeps getting harder….

          • Good shoes… Indeed. Between inflation and “let’s make them cute!”, finding really good women’s shoes that have a consistent fit has become either 1) close to budget-breaking or 2) an exercise in frustration.

            • *Groan* You’re telling me….

              I just ordered a new set of the pair I have, which are no nonsense Fila workshoes. I’m hoping they still fit like the ones I got 2 years ago. I need the foot support and non-slip features!

    • Most women’s clothes I saw were hideous, and the plus-size designs were even worse.

      At one point I realized that I would look better wearing jeans and a men’s t-shirt than in the theoretically “nice” clothes that were available.

      So now I have loose embroidered t-shirt blouses, knit sweaters, and what Amazon calls “elastic maxi-dress skirts” when I need to dress up, and have non-stylish but clean and intact generic clothing for the rest.

  7. The only place that spandex belongs is with the 80’s and earlier supers comics. Even in modern comics, these things are disappearing (fortunately). There never was any place in the real world that they ever belonged.

  8. Sigh. I am at the age where I just have worn out the urge to dress in much more every day than jeans and a loose blouse.

    When I worked in various offices as admin-assistant/executive secretary, I used to put on a skirt suit, or a skirt with a matching twin-set and a silk scarf (of which I have a drawer-full, collected mostly in Korea, when I haunted the central fabric market for silk lengths marked off as scarves.) I could go for a full month with another scarf every day – one of the other secretaries made a bet with me once – I won, of course. I still had a week of scarves.

    Now, the only time I put on anything like the full rig is for a book event – and I go total Victorian/Edwardian for that – down to the combinations or shift, corset and petticoats. And hat, reticule, gloves – the works.

    But that’s only for special occasions.

  9. Not everyone has a true sense of style. It’s like music: many people who can appreciate it can’t really do it.

    Men don’t have as many choices in attire as women. For us it’s a nearly linear progression from lounging around the house through rough work, athletics, doing errands, what we call office casual, suit-and-tie to “I need a tux for this wedding.” Yes, you can vary it with period or regional dress, but that projects an external identity. For me it feels like wearing a mask.

    It doesn’t help that, as good as the windsor tie can look, it carries the taint of Edward the Tiemaker’s successor, Edward the Abdicator. Since abdicating was the best thing he ever did, I’m disinclined to celebrate his line and name.

    More power to those who can do style (and not just mock it with bad fashion)! But those of us who can’t do it probably should not try it in public.

    • There’s a lot to be said for finding basics that work for you, and not varying all that much. I know of two gents who had two work suits, a few ties or cravats that worked with their coloring, and some casual clothing for yard work and the like. They always looked very sharp.

    • At a renfaire a bit ago I saw one fellow in modern (relatively) garb… but while it wasn’t *wrong* it was… well, he looked like he needed a pocket watch and to travel by rail.

Comments are closed.