Youthful Escapism

I would be standing in the outdoor commons or at a classroom window. A mecha, perhaps a fighter plane like Robotech, or one of the lions from Voltron would swoop down and land. I’d be the only one who could operate it, and all the other junior high brat—, er, students and faculty would stare as I headed off to do battle among the stars. And not return to junior high. Ever. No one would beat me up for being a nerd ever again.

Well, obviously, that fantasy didn’t come true. Probably just as well, given my difficulty with spatial visualization. I have enough trouble in atmosphere. Take away gravity and…the results would be entertaining for observers, or hair raising, or both at different times. I’d do better as a mechanic, or intel analyst (which is eventually what I planned on being after college.) I survived my teen years, more or less intact, at least physically. We shall not speak of my mental state, because it was unspeakable.

I was reminded of this from a discussion over at MGC where someone observed that he didn’t understand why Eustace Scrubb got so upset at being transformed into a dragon in the novel Voyage of the Dawn Treader. The commenter would have been delighted to wake up as a teen and find himself a dragon, one that could fly (and preferably breathe flame as well). I suspect a decent number of us voracious readers, nerds, baby bats (proto goths), and so on entertained visions of escaping in some way. Without clear rituals of passage from childhood to adulthood, aside from high school graduation*, there’s a period of floundering and sorting out, often relatively unsupervised by actual adults. As a result the pack turns on the Odds, unless we are 1) so ferocious that the group decides its safer to leave us alone or 2) we can contribute something of value, or 3) gain protectors, often because of Option 2.

And we read everything we could get our hands on, disappearing into different worlds. Now people game as well as read, immersing themselves in situations where they have more control (perhaps) and can actually do something about the problem.

What do you want to be? The answer changes over time as a child grows and sees more of the world. A giraffe, or a ballerina, Han Solo or Indiana Jones, a pilot, an elephant, a pony, a mad scientist [he got a PhD and does industrial chemistry, last I heard], a sports star, a rock star, a witch, all those things get tried on, perhaps adapted to this reality, perhaps discarded. After all, the job market for giraffes is somewhat limited at the moment. Those of us who still can’t decide, or who insist on being Odd often end up on the outside of the pecking order, fair game for other insecure or power-hungry people. Alas that pattern all too often extends past teen years into the Real World. Or predators take advantage of the Odds, as we see with dismal regularity today.

I just wanted to get away, to go be an adult doing adult things. I admit, a few days I dreamed of leveling the junior high building on my way out, with everyone safely outside of it. If the building was gone, then the problem would be gone, Or so I imagined. I know better, now.

And some days I want to be Professor Henry Jones Jr, opening the office window and climbing out and leaving the TA or secretary to deal with ungraded papers, unsigned forms, and dumb administrator requests. Turning into a dragon would be a nice bonus, but not required.

*And that’s no longer always true, given the over-emphasis on four-year-plus degrees and “you have to have a bachelor’s in something.”

12 thoughts on “Youthful Escapism

  1. I have some not entirely fond where tertiary schools are concerned.

    Less a matter of students, or coming of age. Mostly a combination of me being contentiously argumentative, and spending too much time and energy analyzing policy statements.

    Getting the certificate checky box ticked does not translate automatically into real learning. It is quite possible to meet the formal requirements while having severe deficits where actual gains are concerned. So, for a thoughtful person, the mere fact of the degree does not count as real proof of own ability.

    At what point does stuff become real? If you properly avoid investing in what other people think of you, you kinda just have to choose for yourself, and accept that.

  2. Well, I am a dragon. [Crazy Grin]

    More seriously, I imagined being in another world, being a super-being, etc.

    Of course, I had times where I imagined being a super-villain.

  3. Desires/choices/reality seem to always have ‘different’ plans for us, regardless… sigh… Our age group found ourselves dealing with the ‘police action’ called Vietnam, which caused us to take entirely different directions than our desires. Some ran, many stepped up and served. And yes, there were plenty of ‘odds’ in the military in the 60s and 70s! We still read everything we could get our hands on, and spent our off time doing everything we could to get away from the ‘reality’ we were facing. I look back on that time today, just thankful I survived it!!! 🙂

    • Right on, Old NFO!

      School for me was just something I had to do between doing other things I enjoyed more — that and a better library than the local Parish one.

      As an “odd” in the military in the 1960s through the early 1990s, AND a Vietnam vet, I resemble that remark. I also had the fortune of having a job I absolutely LOVED, and did well at. Did NOT love military politics, which is why I retired. Civilian politics is worse, but I’ll survive as long as Alma (and others) keeps writing good stories to read.

  4. Junior high (2 year) and the first two years of high school (Yr 1 & 2 at one campus, 3 & 4 had a separate one, for Reasons) were rough. Last years of high school weren’t as bad; it was big enough (graduating class > 1000 students) that Odds could figure out ways to largely avoid the [Cool Kids|Thugs], lessons learned the hard way earlier.

    The movie If… came out in ’68, but I didn’t see it until college. Fortunately for all concerned, I was done with Junior HS before it came out. $OLDEST_BROTHER had rifles and ammunition, and I didn’t need inspiration. Got into a few fights; didn’t do well, but I wasn’t that attractive as a punching bag. Not sure why.

    College was OK. My first dorm complex was nicknamed “Boys’ Town”, and there were a lot of shenanigans (raises hand). Those needing quiet to study had alternatives, and there were enough Odds there to make it easier. Never thought about the fraternity system, knowing the Cool Kids from high school were pledging there. Nope.

  5. I wanted to be an astronaut. Imagine an eight-year-old girl living on the West Coast getting up at 3 a.m. to watch rocket launches in Florida. When I developed motion sickness and acrophobia on the same day I gave up that aspiration.

    I was the classic nerd in high school. No one picked on me, because, in part, I was totally oblivious, in part, because it was a small school (graduating class of 65) and everyone knew everyone else.

    College was another world. For the first time I was with people who were interested in the same things I was. Other than some odd religious problems (being a Catholic in a Southern Baptist college) my first two years of college were the most carefree years of my life.

  6. Wow, probably would not change all that much if I had a wayback machine. I read SF voraciously and was sure in the late 60s that we would have regular flights to the moon by the late 80s. Boy that sure worked out. Small Catholic HS and the cool kids sure didn’t bother the Odds, we outnumbered them. College was spread over way too many years trying to balance a military career with PCS moves along with being there for my family when I wasn’t off doing some military shenanigans so I actually didn’t graduate until I completed the military career.

    • I hear you, EdC. Eleven colleges and universities, 210 semester-hours, plus tons of military experience (mostly classified, darn it!), and still no degree. By the time I retired, I no longer considered a Bachelors Degree worth the expense. Glad you finished.

Opine away!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.