This is not vegan, or kosher, although you could probably substitute agar for the gelatin. It is, however, an alternative for those who might be tired of cranberry-in-a-can, or more traditional cranberry relishes. At RedQuarters we serve it with the main meal because it is tart.
3 cups cranberries, picked over (1 lb) and semi-frozen
1 c sugar
1 package lemon jello and one of unflavored jello
1 C. hot (near boiling) water
1 C. chopped nuts,* 1C chopped celery, 1 C. small marshmallows cut into pieces
Spray a jello mold or bowl with cooking spray. Run the frozen berries through a food processor, adding in the sugar. While it sits, add the boiling water to the gelatin. Let that sit a few minutes until it starts to thicken, Combine the chopped ingredients with the cranberries and gelatin. Pour it into the mold and chill until it sets (at least four hours, overnight is safer. I’ve been known to put it outdoors if it is below freezing out.)
Serve with sour cream if desired.
*We’re trying to replace the nuts (pecans most of the time) with water chestnuts this year. We’re going to dry them thoroughly before adding them, so the moisture doesn’t mess things up.
A more traditional take: 1lb pkg of fresh cranberries, juice and grated peel of 1 orange, 1c sugar, big pinch of ground cloves. Bring to a boil, simmer until most of the berries have popped and pour into a serving dish. Chill until stiff. This sets up quite stiff and is great on toast, too.
Nope, just nope… Can’t stand cranberry. Too many years of canned cranberry at Thanksgiving and Christmas… 🙂
Eh, I like the can-shaped jelly. (I’m also making a fresh sauce,. Because I’m an adult, and can have both if I want them.)
For the big feast tomorrow, all I’ve really got to do today is thaw the bird, and start the sponge for the bread.
So I made brine, and started the process of curing Canadian Bacon. (Pork loin is cheap and readily accessible in Indiana. Pork bellies, not so much. No clue why.)
To each their own. I like the can-shaped jelly for some things, but this is a 60+ year old tradition. (And cutting up marshmallows keeps small people busy . . .)
Gelatin is not only kosher, but parve.
Is it? The kind I’m familiar with is made from either beef or pork bones, and isn’t always labeled.
Gelatin can be kosher. Some gelatin is, most is not.
“…gelatin produced from tahor species that are properly processed (slaughtered, internally checked, and salted in the case of animal source) and produced on kosher equipment is acceptable. In today’s market, there are reliably kosher gelatins available from both animal and fish sources.”
Many more details at the following link:
Darling Daughter asked for the canned sauce – premolded and easy to slice for servings. Now, the diorama placed on slices is a separate story. At least the mini-dinosaur mold is hidden.