Coffee!

I was doing a pretty good impression of a bush-baby. Too bad it was at 0100.

I need to be asleep three hours ago! OK, Cat, your turn to shuffle the cards.

Around four the previous afternoon, after visiting the local native plant nursery (Canyon’s Edge Plants – highly, highly recommend!), Dorothy Grant and I went next door to Palace Coffee. Palace Coffee is a serious coffee place that has won national awards for fancy coffees and such. I’d not been in there before.

I got a vanilla cappucino. Normally, if I drink coffee I drink lattes, because most coffee tastes deadly bitter to me. So a nice cappucino arrives with a sort of firebird-type logo on the foam. We settled in for a sip-n-chat as college kids drifted in and out around us.

Good coffee, seriously good coffee! No bitter, or at least not enough that I was hunting for additional milk and sugar to kill the flavor. We did giggle over the logo a little.

Rebel Alliance? Lords of Hyrule get a new designer?

We drank out coffee and chatted, then went and had a nice supper with Peter, then chatted for a while longer, and all went to our respective places to sleep. Except… I didn’t sleep.

Apparently the coffee was strong enough, late enough in the afternoon, that it kept me going until 0200. Dorothy also had a little trouble nodding off. I thought I had a pretty high caffeine tolerance, but apparently not that high.

Still, it was very good coffee. Just not after 1600 next time.

7 thoughts on “Coffee!

  1. I found myself wishing energy drinks worked for me, on my drive home last night. I normally drink coffee from as long as it takes to perk a pot after I get up in the morning, until I go to bed. I normally don’t like to drink too much shortly before I go to bed, not because the caffeine affects me, but because I’ll be back up in a short while, to get rid of the coffee I just drank.
    But I made it home at 11:30 last night, which doesn’t sound terribly late, except I left at 3:00… AM, and had been either driving or doing hard physical labor all the time in between.

  2. Alma has brought us a paean
    Of praise to the pure coffee baean.
    But, sad to relate,
    She then stays up too late,
    So from it she must herself waean.

    😉

    • I am. Which is why I still have a mild headache. Happens every time I come to Europe and cut back my coffee, tea, and cola by 90%.

  3. I’ll have to check this place out the next time I’m up that way. Preferably right before I start the drive home.

  4. Heh, I’m ‘down’ to only 15 or so cups a day. My only problem, like Bearcat, is the oh-dark-30 coffee trade in required…

  5. It was good coffee – and even better company! We need to meet up there again. Earlier in the day. Much earlier in the day. Maybe even before we go to the nursery!

Comments are closed.