The Buzz-heard Round the World

So, Friday morning, the sun was rising, the grackles were gracking, other birds chirped, a few joggers thudded past, and four very large birds settled into the neighbor’s ornamental plum-tree. Very large birds. Dark, large birds. One of the four lumbered off before I could get a quick photo.

Probably not what the neighbor wanted to see as he opened the blinds and started on the first cup of coffee.

Ladies and gentlemen, the turkey buzzards have started migrating. I thought their landing in the flowering plum-tree was an especially nice touch. Giggle, giggle.

“Dad, could you check the paper and see who died?”

They roost in a very upscale and old neighborhood about a mile east and half-a-mile north of my part of town. I’m sure the people living there are delighted to have buzzards raising families near their historic, high-dollar, or both houses.

True story: some years ago, when I’d just changed apartments at Flat State U, a small gaggle of vultures decided to settle onto the roofs of a nearby set of apartments and duplexes for a day. The residents called Animal Control and demanded that the birds be chased away forthwith if not sooner. Why? Because those were a Senior Citizen’s housing development, and apparently people in their 80s and 90s didn’t care for the ideas suggested by vultures on the roof. The buzzards left on their own the next day.

The trio plus one shown above had wingspans probably four feet (1.25 m) from tip-to-tip. One made an inspection pass at a Scottie being walked by the lady from down the street, and I’ve never seen that dog-ette pull the leash so hard. His owner was almost running to keep up with him. I suspect she didn’t realize that the buzzard had no desire to eat her dog… Yet.

8 thoughts on “The Buzz-heard Round the World

  1. That is funny, I have very seldom seen a buzzard unless there is something dead, but then they can certainly show up in a hurry. I did have a game camera on an elk wallow last year, and had quite a few pictures of a lone turkey buzzard that would come in to get a drink, I guess scavenging is thirsty work!

    • I suspect it was a rest break. We’re under a major arm of the Central Flyway, and are a bit of an island of roosting and resting opportunities for large birds.

  2. I like having buzzards around. I think they add a nice ambiance to the place. But then I’m odd.

    • I’d like to have ravens, but we get doves instead. And the raptors who use the bird feeders and bird bath as a buffet.

        • They can have all the English sparrows and mourning doves they want. Grackles too. The pretty songbirds never seem to find my place.

      • I’d rather watch raptors than pretty songbirds any day. Besides, you get the best of both worlds, you get to watch the songbirds until the raptors show up, then you get to watch the raptors eat the songbirds. 🙂

Comments are closed.