New Year and Music Review

Happy New Year! Now go out and start writing/jogging/reading diet-cooking cookbooks/sitting quietly and meditating/being nice on FaceSpace/ or whatever else you resolved to do.

Gratuitous cat picture, because . . . cat. Athena got tired of me photographing something else and came to see what was diverting her Chief Petter and Feeder from her proper duties.

Gratuitous cat picture, because . . . cat. Athena got tired of me photographing something else and came to see what was diverting her Chief Petter and Feeder from her proper duties.

Two Steps from Hell Vanquish MP3

I’ve been a fan of Two Steps from Hell since their first release. “Protectors of the Earth” is Rada and Joschka’s theme music and has been since the first time that combat waltz played through my headphones. Two Steps was my introduction to what is now called Epic Music (music for movies that have not been made yet), although I’d been a soundtrack collector for many years. They are one of the few groups on my auto-purchase list for new releases.

Vanquish is  . . . different. Not bad different, just different. As one Amazon reviewer wrote, what stands out is that no single track stands out, unless it might be “Enchantress”. The entire album is solid, with the depth of symphonic sound and energy we associate with Two Steps. “Stallion” is the cavalry charge or race-against-time the title suggests. “Enchantress” is the answer to everyone who begs for longer single tracks, and clocks in at over eight minutes of delight and story. “New World Order” has a definite sense of “Yeah, you won . . . for now.” But there’s not a single “Oh my gosh I put this on repeat and lost an hour” or “This is why I bought the album!” song.

I’m not entirely thrilled with the vocal tracks, but I think it has more to do with the vocalist than the songs. Her voice isn’t what I’d like to hear. She’s closer to a rock/folk-rock vocalist and less of the operatic soprano or the male voices Two Steps has used in the past.

I’ve listened to the album three times through now, so yeah, it’s not bad. I’m glad I bought it, and Two Steps from Hell will stay on my “grab it now” list. This album is more of a package than a string of gems – I don’t foresee anything making the “Best of” collection, at least not at the moment. That may change.

If you have not heard Two Steps from Hell before, get Invincible then Battlecry and Sky World first. If you are an epic music fan already, go for it. You won’t lose anything.

I’d call it 4.8 stars out of five.

Obligatory Disclaimer: I purchased this album with my own money for personal use and received no promotional consideration from the artist or producer.

2 thoughts on “New Year and Music Review

  1. LOL, obviously you’re neglecting the poor kitty… Re the music, sadly I can’t hear well enough anymore to actually enjoy any of it.

    • Yes, there was a human in the room and the human was not paying obeisance to the Greatness That Is Cat. Obviously, something was wrong.

Comments are closed.