Presented without Comment: Randall Thompson Edition.

The Last Words of David, Randall Thompson

He that ruleth over men must be just, ruling in the fear of God.
And he shall be as the light of the morning, when the sun riseth, even a morning without clouds;
as the tender grass springing out of the earth by clear shining after rain.
Alleluia. Amen.

http://www.worldwideschool.org/library/books/relg/bible/theholybible/chap293.html

Samuel XXIII

23:1. Now these are David’s last words. David the son of Isai said: The man to whom it was appointed concerning the Christ of the God of Jacob, the excellent psalmist of Israel said:*

23:2. The spirit of the Lord hath spoken by me and his word by my tongue.

23:3. The God of Israel said to me, the strong one of Israel spoke, the ruler of men, the just ruler in the fear of God.

23:4. As the light of the morning, when the sun riseth, shineth in the morning without clouds, and as the grass springeth out of the earth by rain.

From: http://www.shrewsburychorale.org/Past/The%20Last%20Words%20of%20David%20-%20Samuel%20XXIII.htm

*A better (in my opinion) translation of 2nd Samuel 23:1: “Now these be the last words of David. David the son of Jesse said, and the man who was raised up on high, the anointed of the God of Jacob, and the sweet psalmist of Israel, said, . . .”

4 thoughts on “Presented without Comment: Randall Thompson Edition.

  1. That’s very nice. The Mormon Tabernacle Choir performs some amazing music, but I think my favorite of theirs has to be a recording I heard of them performing patriotic songs along with the Marine Corps Band. It is not as grand or as (religiously) spiritual as some of their other music, but there was something about the high quality, the sheer energy, and the unrestrained patriotism of it that I found so moving. It might just be that I’d been running into too much loathe of country that day and it was the tonic I needed when I stumbled across it.

    • One of my favorite recordings of theirs is entitled “America’s Choir.” There’s only two songs on it that I don’t really love, and both of those are more pop-type numbers (the songs themselves, not the performance.)

Comments are closed.