When Computers Sense Frustration, Part ????

I am, as of last week, 0-3 with getting scanners at Redquarters to function. They are laughing at me. I can hear them when I turn my back.

Mom Red was visiting Red 2.0. And she wanted pumpkin carving patterns. “Pick a cat and a dragon that are easy to medium, scan, and send them as an e-mail.” I found the patterns, turned on Mom and Dad’s computer, and then the headaches began.

Bear in mind, I am a firm believer in the maxim that computers, like animals and small children, can sense fear and frustration. That is the moment they choose to strike. So when I turned on the new SuperPrinter (prints, scans, copies), checked the cord connections, and followed the steps for scanning, and nothing happened, I was not entirely surprised. It is a new beast, after all. The error message on the computer said that there was no connection that the computer recognized (although it would print, so really no input connection.) Off to the manufacturer’s troubleshooting page I went.

I needed to set the ten-digit network ID code so the computer would recognize and accept input from said scanner. because I could not find where the NID code was for said scanner (no paper manual, no paperwork. All online.) But the printer wouldn’t allow me to do that, once I figured out which ten-step process I needed to even find the screen on the printer that allowed out to enter a code. OK, time for round two.

I went to my big scanner/printer/copier. No dice, which I’d anticipated because I had to tinker with some drivers last year and it has balked at scanning ever since. So I went to HP and other places for drivers to update the thing so it will scan as well as print and copy. Nada. The scanner part is no longer supported, as of three OS updates ago.

Time for a deep breath, not pounding on the top of my printer with my fists while snarling, not doing something expensive and rude. I counted to ten in a few languages and then dug out my portable scanner, a Canon.

Guess what? Unless you are running Linux, there are no longer drivers for the Canon scanners. Not supported, sorry, even on the older OS on my school lap-top. El Capitan or Yosemite? Forget it. The scanner is now a rather nice, compact, brick as far as my two laptops are concerned, my folks big computer likewise.

Dad and I ended up mailing the patterns to Mom. Oh well. She got them on time, and I learned about the problem before I tried to scan documents at an archive and had a rude surprise.

Arrrrrrrrghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7 thoughts on “When Computers Sense Frustration, Part ????

  1. That does seem to be the peculiar advantage of the long drought of manufacturer supplied Linux drivers. The bypassing of them (or in some cases, the preservation of them) has come to mean that often things will work on Linux by simply connecting the cables and telling the OS, “Go look for new hardware.” I have heard tales of someone with a Linux machine simply plugging in a scanner that “always took three hard hours to set up” running the needed scans and handing the scanner back to someone who still had his jaw on the floor. It’s not always that easy, alas. Sometimes there is the discussing. And sometimes just the cussing.

  2. I’ve given up on HP after going through 3 in one year. I haven’t touched a Canon this century. Right now I’m using a Brother. Yes, the ink costs more than the all-in-one did new. But it seems to work.

    Remember – what Macrosoft giveth it can also taketh away. “Macrosoft – because you suck, and we hate you.”

  3. It very frustrating when something like that happens. The scary part is this isn’t just a problem with consumer grade products that cost maybe a couple hundred bucks. It also inflicts scientific and industrial equipment costing thousands and even hundreds of thousands of dollars. Many labs and fab shops have ancient computers running ancient operating systems that would otherwise be fodder for recycling or the trash…. were they not the only way of operating the scientific instrument or industrial machine they control. The manufacturer of the device may not be around – or may still be around but prefer past customers to shell out a small fortune for new devices rather than expend any effort updating software for compatibility with new computers and operating systems.

Comments are closed.