Occupy Update

After a brief hiatus to reassess the purpose of Occupy:Toilet Mat and to consider options for furthering those goals, the Occupation has indeed resumed despite the removal of The Mat.

Yes?

Yes?

The movement has resumed just as it first began. In the dark of night, the wee hours when most people are asleep, “MrreEEEEOOwww!”

The Cat was on the Mat.

Yes, it is mine. Now shoo.

Yes, it is mine. Now shoo.

What?

What?

I said, MINE!!!!!

I said, MINE!!!!!

Don't make me use the big pleading eyes on you. I am mistress of the Mat.

Don’t make me use the big pleading eyes on you again. I am mistress of the Mat.

If you ever come to Redquarters and must use the bathroom after dark, be ware. Be very ware.

5 thoughts on “Occupy Update

  1. Speaking of cats after dark, there was an unfortunate incident with my cat and I when I was in my teens. I woke up in the middle of the night and was thirsty, so I decided to walk downstairs to kitchen to get something to drink. I didn’t turn on the light in the hallway because it shined into my parents bedroom (under their door). So I get to the top of the stairs to begin my descent, and my foot feels something warm and furry for just a second… and then the thuds begin. Thud, thud, thud, thud, THUD, MEOW! Oops.

    Poor Whiskers! I knew exactly how he’d felt. Just a few months earlier, I was doing technical theater work in high school, and was up in the (very dusty) catwalk adjusting lighting while a rehearsal for the impending musical was underway. Afterwards, while descending the steep ladder to backstage, I completely lost my footing (see my point about the dust) and began to tumble down. Thud, thud, thud, and then miraculously, my arm caught one of the balusters, arresting my fall. This of course had drawn the attention of all those rehearsing, and I got a nasty luck from the pianist. What a jerk – it wasn’t like I’d taken a tumble down the 30-ish foot high flight of steps in an effort to disrupt the rehearsal.

    • Oh yes, Sib’s cat and I have had “moments of mild interest” on a wooden staircase in the dim pre-dawn light. Athena is semi-visible when she is on her side, so you can see her white feet, but when she’d loafed up on dark brown in a dark corner? All bets are off!

  2. That is one of the most beautiful cats I’ve ever seen!
    Greebo-who-is-afraid-to-get-on-bed-with-mommy-and-daddy unlike the always-indoor cats has taken to sleeping on the floor, next to my side of the bed. I’m night blind. He’s black. he’s hiding today as he KNOWS I’m looking for him to squish him.

    • I don’t understand cats, although I’m starting to think that they are situationally color-blind. They can tell what color they clash with in order to best shed upon it (I hide my dark green micro-wale corduroy pants), then squall when you can’t see them against a dark or wood-grain (Gigancat the red tabby on parquet floor) surface.

Comments are closed.