Three Times the Tiger’s Eye

One of my rules of thumb is that when something happens three times in relatively close succession, it may be a Hint. It’s not quite on a par with the sinking, stomach-twisting sense of looming disaster that means “whatever you are about to do, don’t do it!” The last time I ignored that sensation, twenty minutes later I was the third-from-last in an interstate pile-up in Really Flat State. Since on previous occasions, ignoring my educated gut led to not-quite-as-bad but still not fun events and outcomes, I finally learned to stop ignoring the sense of doom.

A week ago or so I had a follow-up appointment after my massive dental work. The background music in the dentist’s office is eclectic to put it mildly. Some days it is ocean noises, some days Celtic Lite and Celt-Age, or Christian Contemporary, Classical, or New Country (1980s-mid 1990s), Soft Top 40 Classics (“Kissed by a Rose” and similar), classical, New Age instrumental . . . You never know. And it may vary from room to room (the washrooms, however, are without music.)

So I’m spending my first hour having the muscles relaxed so he can get a good trace of my jaw motion and bite pressures in order to adjust the crowns if necessary*. I’m reading away, more-or-less ignoring the music. And then I hear that running bass line start, and then the guitar entered, and “Eye of the Tiger” is playing. I have never heard that kind of rock on his music lists. Ever. And I got an odd feeling that had nothing to do with the electrostimulation then in progress.

That made three times in ten days that “Eye of the Tiger” had come up without my going looking for it. And the third time on a music channel and in a place I have never heard fast rock played. I was the only patient in the office at the time, and the techs were tidying up and getting ready for the next day’s patients.

As I mentioned before, I used to think of “Eye of the Tiger” as my theme song in a way. It’s about fighting back, standing up to long odds, and not quitting. I really, really hope this is not the Most High’s way of warning that trouble is coming into my world. (Although . . . . although . . . the students had some interesting questions after the emergency drills this past week.) Perhaps it means that there’s an opportunity about to leap at me, but one that will require a whole lot of effort to get to the brass ring (“had the guts, got the glory.”)

Or it could be an interesting coincidence involving a song that I’m tuned to listen for and nothing more.

But three times . . .

Edited to Add: the bootcamp workout instructor had it playing Saturday AM as I was in a different part of the gym doing modified clean-and-jerks. He usually plays Metallica and other hard-rock bands. Should I be getting nervous?

*It was necessary. After three rounds of work, I asked if engraving a full monogram cost extra. He did a double-take, then laughed. And ground for another half hour or so. But everything seems to be exactly where it should be for the most natural bite and the least stress on my jaw joints and other things.

11 thoughts on “Three Times the Tiger’s Eye

  1. Sometime it is just strange, meaningless coincidence, like turning onto state route 747 just as Steve Miller Band’s “Jet Airliner” comes up on the radio, or “All Along the Watchtower” comes up on the playlist just as the van reaches the parking lot at Grand Canyon’s Desert Watchtower. OTOH, if your consciously noticing such things, maybe its your subconscious struggling to tell your conscious mind something. On the gripping hand, perhaps it is a message from upstairs.

  2. $HOUSEMATE used to do tech support for large data backup. Once sent to Muzak HQ (terabyte upon terabyte of digitized audio…) and every room in the building had its own music. Save one. There was one place at Muzak HQ that was silent. No, not the restroom(s). The elevator. Seems they really hate that reputation, so…

    • I’d have my workstation installed in the elevator. I tend to lock onto back ground music and it is a real pain to try and work against. (Writing fiction’s a bit different.)

      • I can’t play music while I’m writing, unless it is something instrumental. I get sidetracked by the lyrics and usually start singing along. I’ve tried music in a foreign language, but that is actually worse, because it almost sounds like if I just paid more attention I could understand what they were saying. Afrikaans for some reason is the very worst for this, I can’t hardly listen to any song in Afrikaans without singing along… and usually catch myself making the words into some mangled form of English.

      • I’ve found I’m in much the same boat. There are certain activities I just can’t do with lyrical music, like creative writing, software design, or reading/digesting anything theory-heavy; for these, only instrumental music will do. Even songs sung in foreign languages (e.g. anime theme songs, Celtic chants in nu-BSG music) can be distracting.

        Yet there are related activities, like technical writing, software code writing, GIS, and 3D design that I can do just fine to instrumental or lyrical music. And pretty much any music is fine for more physical activities like painting (interior, exterior, models & miniatures, whatever), sweeping, cooking, sanding, sawing, etc.

      • Bearkat – you mean Gerhard Steyn’s Afrikaanse Meisies wouldn’t be a good choice? (Actually, if you watch the music video, there’s NO DOUBT what the song’s about. Though it does throw a little when you hear “John Deere” coming through the refrain. 🙂

        Also not recommended for sheer sticking in your head: Bok van Blerk’s De La Ray, for the general of that name, tyd om de trek, or Land van Melk en Heuning (Land of milk and honey)

        You’re welcome!

  3. I can not hear Eye of the Tiger without seeing Jensen Ackles’ hilarious outtake from the Supernatural episode Yellow Fever.

    Worth looking around youtube to find.

Comments are closed.