Standing Athwart Technology Yelling “Stop!”

I am not on the bleeding edge of adopting technology. Nor am I on the leading edge, or the trailing edge. I am generally dragged along five years or so after the entire rest of the world is using the device/system/service in question. Yes, I am out of the loop. Yes, when I do have to learn to use $THING$ my learning curve is so steep as to be vertical. On the other hand . . . On the other hand . . .

My home chapter of a patriotic organization voted to disband. There are no longer enough of us to carry on with our core mission, and most of those who remain are not in good health. Our little group is not alone, alas, in this, as fraternal orders and charitable groups around the country have a similar problem. As I was helping clean up following the meeting, I voiced a thought I’d had recently: If Twitter (TM) and Facebook (TM) and SnapChat (TM) suddenly disappeared, Western Civilization might be better off. The gent who was helping me sort of sighed and agreed.

It was a form of short hand. Had changes in generational interests and the pleasures of gaming, social media, and other things not proved so attractive, we might well have more, younger people who are interested in doing more for civic and social engagement than joining a Twitter campaign or liking a Facebook post about helping the poor and downtrodden. Or who joined groups like Rotary, Lions, Elks, the Masonic Order, Oddfellows, CAP, CAF, and a host of other local clubs and associations. Now, granted, a lot of younger people lack both the time and the financial ability (real or perceived) to participate in this kind of thing. The Long Recession is dragging a lot down along with the obvious economy. But the iSociety is so tempting and so easy to lean on, far more so than the real-world committment to civic and other organizations.

I know. Most of my own social life is on-line. Why? It lets me be introverted. I don’t have to make eye contact and talk to real, live people. It lets me think about what I am going to say and how, to back up, to hit delete (sometimes), to consider my words and reactions before I respond. Real life takes a great deal more effort. Teaching is a two-way street, but the reverse flow of traffic is rather lighter than a true social interaction.

Social media doesn’t use the same muscles as getting involved for the long haul with a project or organization. It doesn’t require weekly rehearsals (and nightly the week of the concert). it doesn’t require calling or visiting businesses to ask for donations. You don’t have to spend ten hours standing on hot asphalt directing airplanes or selling tee-shirts and patches or answering the same question for the twentieth time and smiling and acting excited and friendly. I know good things have come out of social media, like the Icebucket Challenge and other fund-raisers or organizing assistance and passing on information in crises. The Cajun Navy is a magnificent example of how to use things for the good. Or when Craigslist set up a I’m-looking-for and I’m-here-where-are-you site after a couple major disasters. But I do not think that overrides the larger shift in society.

Western civilization is built on a lot of things. Common cultural inheritance, common moral standards (even when honored in the breach), common belief in the rule of law over the rule of men. All of those require interacting with other people, live people. Archivists and hermits can preserve things but not make them bloom. And I do not think, when we look back in 20-50 years, social media will have encouraged the values and best in Western Civ and civil society.

So yes, I do not participate in social media, no accounts, I can go for weeks without checking my e-mail (and I enjoy it) or commenting on blogs and news sites. I do need to get out more, to do more than work through my place of worship and my association’s (now former) local chapter. And I need to push, pull, pester, encourage younger people to look up from the electronic world and participate in our community. # will not clean up the park. “Like” won’t rebuild Louisiana, or southern Texas, or anywhere else that people need help for the long haul.

9 thoughts on “Standing Athwart Technology Yelling “Stop!”

  1. Most of what you say I agree with, but while I have seen some good community projects done by the Rotary club, the Elks, Moose, and Lions; in my experience (second-hand, I belong to none of them) are simply a members only gentleman’s club with low priced drinks.

    • It probably depends on the chapter and community. I know John Donovan (Castle Arrrrg!) had a post some years ago about the variety among Rotary chapters and the common outside perceptions and misconceptions about them.

  2. I find myself in agreement. I am not generally a fan of social media, or the push model of content delivery in general. However, most of my horde of cousins are on the book of faces. If I’m feeling social it is a good way to share things with them or check on how things are going with them, since I get to see them in person so rarely – and it allows them to share baby photos. Despite that, my feelings toward the book of faces are decidedly mixed.

    • As a “keep in touch with family” tool the Book of Faces is great . . . except for the owners trying to make $$$ off of it. The politics and e-activism, and the secret (and not so secret) censorship and favoritism, I’m not so pleased with.

  3. Social networks are setting us up for a dysfunctional generation. When one hides behind a screen and never interacts in the real world as a child/young adult, they are doomed to failure when they have to get out in the real world and be confronted by people who do not hold ‘their’ values as significant, and expect said people to actually work 8 hours to get paid for 8 hours, instead of spending half of it on social media. You are dead on about #whatever isn’t going to rebuild anything, or save anyone… Sigh…

  4. A problem with that theory is that the old clubs have been dying off since I was a little kid– yeah, the early 80s sucked for young families, but…. the moving was a bigger problem.

    In my limited experience, it’s hard to bang your way into any of the groups. Everyone knows each other, and unless you’ve got someone to give you an “in”, you’re not going to be allowed to get involved. The way that you can’t get rid of anyone without risking a lawsuit is maybe a feature, too, but the only groups I know of that’re growing are connected to churches, and then it’s things like the Knights of Columbus. (Think of it as the Catholic version of the Masons or Elks and you’re about right.) Even when there’s recruiting drives…. you’re not allowed to do anything, and then you’re treated poorly for not doing anything. (I tried to join up with the local food pantry because they’re all old enough that packing a full grocery bag is a challenge; I can pack two bags and a toddler, no issue. Big nope.)

    Before that, places like the VFW are having to try to rebuild from whatever percent of jackwagons after Vietnam couldn’t separate their politics from a war vet limping in the door. Mixing women in to a lot of the places didn’t help. (Yeah, I’ve got a “right” to be in the VFW– but I wouldn’t fit, and it would cause harm to the group, so from respect/decency I don’t. How many folks were never taught that kind of equation?)

      • It’s possible I have really bad luck with showing up after the “take it over and run it into the ground” folks have hit, too– I know them from 4H when I was a kid. (I suspect those folks are part of why there’s some less-than-open-arms going on– it’s hard to tell when “get things done” comes across as “do as I say,” especially when far too many folks use them the same.) Since I’m always in military areas, that’s actually pretty likely…..

        Thought of another aspect– I may be seeing a continuing pattern when it’s actually two different causes. When I was a kid, the “we’re dying” may have been them hitting the end of the baby boomer lump– the increased population may have kept the lower joining rate of post-Greatest from being an issue. They did have the same “move around a lot” problem.

Comments are closed.