Chicken Biryani (Spicy Chicken and Rice)

So, I’ve had this recipe for a while and carefully filed it. Five years later, as I was cleaning out some stuff in a moving box, I found it again. It says it takes 45 minutes. I needed a shade over an hour.

Ingredients: 4 chicken breasts cut into small cubes (I used three since they tend to be large)

2T butter (plus some olive or other cooking oil)

1 large onion, chopped fine

3 garlic cloves chopped fine (or to taste)

1 1/2 cup wild rice blend (I used Tex-Mati brand)

2 c chicken stock

1/4 teaspoon EACH: cardamom, cinnamon, turmeric*

1/2 tsp EACH ginger, cumin*

1/4 cup dried currents (I used a generous handful of raisins)

2T fresh cilantro chopped

Heat butter in saucepan (Dutch Oven or large pot) and saute onions and garlic for 3 min [or until clear]. Remove from pot and set aside. Saute chicken** until no longer pink. Remove from pan. Add rice, stock, spices and stir. Add onions, chicken, and currents on top of rice. Cover tightly and cook at medium-low for 30 min or until rice is done.

Officially it serves four, I’d say six by the time you add condiments (chutney, yogurt sauce, grated coconut, slivered almonds, whatever you prefer). I didn’t do the yogurt sauce because, well, strawberry Greek yogurt was the only thing in the ‘fridge.

*I doubled the spaces and probably will triple them next time, aside from the turmeric. I quadrupled that but it was an old batch and pretty bland.

**You may need additional oil/butter. I did, about an additional Tablespoon.

The original recipe adds 2 minced jalapenos (added with garlic) and the yogurt sauce: 1C plain yogurt, 4 cloves garlic, 2T chopped fresh cilantro. Stir together and dollop onto rice-n-chicken just before serving.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Biryani (Spicy Chicken and Rice)

    • For me, cilantro tastes like damp earth smells like, so to speak. Personally, I often just skip it, or sometimes substitute oregano, when I make recipes that call for it. (I also have to request “no cilantro” whenever I do Indian or Mexican.)

    • Just leave it out. You could use celeriac or celery leaves, but I don’t think the cilantro’s really necessary for this one.

Comments are closed.