What . . . Already?!?

 

Continuing Education and Professional Development strikes again.

Continuing Education and Professional Development strikes again.

So, when the boss tells you for the third time in three months that it would be a Good Idea to go to a professional development day, even I can get the hint.

It starts at 0900, and I’m told there will be coffee.

Need . . . more . . . caffeine . . . less . . . jargon.

Need . . . more . . . caffeine . . . less . . . jargon.

So, off to hear about updates in classroom technology and how to work around them, classroom management, dealing with challenging students, classroom first aid (beyond – flee, lock door, hide; or deploy Holy Water sprayer and silver bullet dispenser, then proceed to step 1 above).

I have soooooo been there. Spider between the ceiling mounted projector and the wall. It was a long morning.

I have soooooo been there. Spider between the ceiling mounted projector and the wall. It was a long morning. (Stolen from Pinterest)

7 thoughts on “What . . . Already?!?

  1. OH those just truly suck… Listening to some ‘professional’ who hasn’t actually WORKED in the field in 5-10 years prattle on about how YOU should run your classroom in generic terms, without the first knowledge of your actual situation… If you’re bored, play buzzword bingo! 🙂

    • I filled up the card in the first intro session. But my filter sensitivity may be set a little high. Once the non-public-school people appeared it got better.

  2. ” dealing with challenging students”

    I take it the hardwood ruler is no longer acceptable?

    • Depends on the school. I suspect some of the parochial school parents insist on the hickory stick being retained. My place doesn’t use it, although the coaches probably have their own way to get points across. One is seriously old school when it comes to “tools used to impart information through thick skulls.”

    • And challenging can go the other way – what do you do when you’ve got four brilliant/highly creative kids and 16 smart but not nearly as fast/witty/easily bored kids? (Answer, you co-opt the brilliant ones, find ways to channel them, and let them blow off a little steam once in a while.) Which battles are worth picking and when should you aim for detente?

      • Oh my body building teacher in high school had his own way of getting the point across… and it was very effective!

        As for the other, there is a reason most teachers quickly learned to let me read in class or ignore the fact that I usually didn’t even bother to show up; as long as my work was turned it. Shop class, biology or chemistry lab? Yep I can keep myself busy (my chemistry teacher had problems with that, he didn’t let us work in the lab except on rare and rather boring assignments), sit in a desk and listen to the teacher say the same thing the book already said, over and over? I was an only child, I could entertain myself quite fine, but if they insisted on my participation; well I could entertain the rest of the class also.

        Looking back on it now, I got away with a lot I shouldn’t have, but that is probably because the teachers were a lot smarter than I gave them credit for at the time.

      • I learned while teaching college that if I give the bright-n-bored kid an outlet, everyone’s happier. And to be prepared for the occasional pun war.

Comments are closed.