The Housecat Returns

I washed the toilet mat. Distress and complaints ensued, especially since it had to stay outside two days to dry. And that was just me whining about cold feet and the draft!

Well, not really. I wear slippers. Athena T. Cat on the other hand, or paw, was not amused in the slightest. Her mat was gone. Where would she sit? Where would she get underfoot and force the humans to pay attention to her every whim? All the familiar scents would be gone! It would no longer be soft! Woe, oh woe!

I'm stressed out, miserable, and starving to death. Can't you tell?!?

I’m sleepless and starving to death. Can’t you tell?!?

The mat returned intact, although several shades lighter after I rinsed it out, drained it, and rinsed it again. It can’t go in the washing machine because the backing will be ruined, ditto the drier. Yes, I learned this on the bath mat.

Humpf.

Humpf.

I suppose it will do.

I suppose it will do.

Now leave me alone. After you fill my bowl, refresh my water, feed me treats, clean my commode, and present me with fresh catnip. Shoo.

Now leave me alone. After you fill my bowl, refresh my water, feed me treats, clean my commode, and present me with fresh catnip. Shoo.

Oh, the terrible life of an under-served housecat.

Meanwhile, one of the community cats appeared on the brick wall. I don’t think Athena has a clue how good she has it.

Cue "Night on Bald Mountain."

Cue “Night on Bald Mountain.”

This . . . gentleman . . . is known for three blocks as Gato Del Diablo after he almost blinded a 6 month old Golden Retriever puppy. He’s also known as the Recycling Committee because he makes squirrels disappear. We usually find the tail and head a few days later. His owners must wonder about his breath some evenings. He and the large, overweight red and white tabby (Doughball) take turns keeping the neighborhood’s dogs in line. GdD has yellow eyes and blackish-red fur.

I eat souls as appetizers.

I eat souls as appetizers.

Athena is quite willing to scold both cats, so long as the window is closed. They ignore her. I can’t imagine why they’re not terrified of Her Royal Lowness.

