Food Blogging: Sausage-n-Cabbage

And Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian readers!

 

So, fall is the season of increasingly hearty food, at least in those places where it gets cold, dreary, wet, or all of the above. The Red Family has a few stand-bys for those days, and this is one of them. The original source was a 365 Italian recipe cookbook, but we just sort of improvise now.

Necessary ingredients: 1 lb sausage

1 cabbage

1 can diced tomatoes.

water to cover

So, the basic, no frills version is chop the cabbage. I prefer mine fine to shredded, others (Dad Red) just quarters it. Cut the sausage links into smaller pieces and brown in a dutch oven. Add the tomatoes, bring to boil, add cabbage, stir. Add water, enough to bring the level up where you can see liquid. After it comes to a boil, reduce heat and let simmer until the cabbage is done (40 minutes or so), stirring occasionally and adding water as needed. Serve.

Now, for the details. You want a good, dense spicy sausage, like a hot Polish or Italian sausage. I’ve never tried it with chorizo, but why not? I also tend to add a second can of tomatoes rather than a bunch more water. If I have a surfeit of tomatoes, some fresh ‘maters get tossed in as well. And I toss in basil, or thyme, or a pinch of sage, or rosemary, just for a little more body of flavor. Although if your sausage is spicy enough, you probably don’t need a lot of additional herbs. Serve with a good bread if you’ve got it, or hot cornbread, or plain. Tastes a little better the next day, as the flavors have blended.

Shadowdancer adds potatoes and carrots to her version, and more water for a soup.

One word of advice for apartment dwellers: depending on your neighbors, you may get some complaints about the cooking cabbage smell. I tended to leave the windows cracked and the back screen door open to vent, since the across-the-wall folks protested from time to time. (After what they did to the drain one night, I ignored their complaints. A brillo pad with a pan of lasagna chaser into the disposal. I got to pay for the rent-a-rooter.)

5 thoughts on “Food Blogging: Sausage-n-Cabbage

  1. When I was a teen, my mother went on the cabbage soup diet. I refuse to allow it in my house except for coleslaw or fermented.

  2. There aren’t a lot of foods I won’t eat, although there are more I won’t eat a second time. I like cabbage, but usually IN something, not as the primary ingredient of the meal (exception being cabbage rolls). My wife doesn’t like the smell of it cooking. My German landlady cooked it at least once a week, and also made homemade sauerkraut. That smell isn’t as bad as nuoc mom or kimchee, but it’s not a pleasant smell. If I eat it now, it’s usually at a restaurant, or at a friend’s. The same applies to liver. . .

  3. Sausage balls and sauerkraut
    Mix a pound or pound and a half of sausage with a half cup of rice, form into 1″ balls. Layer the bottom of a 10×10″ (or so) pan with 1/3 of a jar of sauerkraut. Add sausage balls. Sprinkle on additional 1/2 cup of rice. Cover with remaining kraut and juice. Pour in a cup (or two, to taste) of apple juice. Bake covered at 350F for an hour.

Comments are closed.