“Trust me.” Yeah. Right.

So, alas, political season is well underway. There is a referendum in Amarillo about the ballpark-that-is-not-a-ballpark-really, too much politician on TV, political TV series (“The Good Wife” “Madame Secretary,” and whatever else is on), fund-raising phone calls, politicians on the ‘Net, pre-pre-pre election coverage on the radio, and, well, I’m reminded of the following classic:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1ILPl5FQaM  Kaa’s song from Disney’s The Jungle Book.

“Trust me, I’m different.”

“Trust me, I won’t do what [other politico] did.”

“Trust me, if I’m elected to Parliament, you can be certain that I will . . .”

The problem, and one I suspect voters in many western countries share, is that we do trust politicians. We trust them to shift from representing our local interests to voting at the party’s beck and call. We trust them to be corrupted by the foolishness and follies of the capital city. We trust them to stop doing what they said they would.

And of course the guys from the other state/province/district are worse. I’m amused but not surprised by people who send donations to help oust politicians in other areas, but who vote for their own incumbent. And I admit, I’ve held my nose and done similar, usually because the intra-party opposition got shellacked during the primary and Olde Faithful is back again. Especially when I lived in states with caucuses, meaning that only registered and dues-paying members of the D, R, L, G, or whatever party can vote in the primary.

(As an aside, if you ever consider running for state, provincial, or other office, make sure your staff know to keep their mouths shut when they are waiting at the airport. A certain presidential candidate lost my support in 2000 because his support staff talked in great detail about how people like me should not vote, and how no women should be “forced” to work outside the home, and some other stuff. As I’m sitting at my desk in the airport lobby ten feet from where they are standing. Not smart. Which was too bad, because some of the guy’s ideas were/are not unreasonable.)

‘Trust us, we know what we’re doing.” and “Trust us, just vote for/against X and we’ll explain where the money will come from later.”

Ummm hmmmm. Trusssssst me, just trussssst me.

6 thoughts on ““Trust me.” Yeah. Right.

  1. While I agree that you shouldn’t be “forced” to work outside the home, I’m assuming their definition of “forced” and mine, aren’t exactly the same?

    • They were saying that women should not work outside the home unless they had no family or faith-group to support them. In which case, since one of my parents was still working full+ time, I should have been back in Texas living with the folks until I got hitched. That’s not what the politician said (or as far as I know, believed/believes) but it certainly turned me off of his campaign.

    • You actually were able to watch that travesty? Sorry even as a kid, I never could stand cartoons… and having already read Kipling before I first saw The Jungle Book I got to add, “that’s not how it goes in the book!” to, “cartoons, yechh!”

      • Hmmm, well I was 8. It was a few years before I was reading Kipling. I liked the running away to the jungle part. The ending, not so much.

        I know all the words to all the songs.

Comments are closed.