Carp-nado?!?

How far can carp fly? Not the infamous jumping carp currently infesting the Mississippi River watershed, but basic Eastern European carp. Because either they can fly, or spontaneously generate from the soil, or someone’s been stocking a local lake on the sly.

Ephemeral lakes do not, as a rule, have fish in them. Fish need water. Dry-bottomed depressions in the ground generally do not make good piscatorial premises. Until something like this happens:

Now people are catching good-sized, as in over a foot long, carp in their yards. Assuming that (unlike the Far Side cartoon) the carp did not use SCOBA (self-contained out-of-water breathing apparatus) to walk from elsewhere to the lake, either the carp fell from the sky, appeared via spontaneous generation from something in the once-dry soil, or were slipped into the lake.

Several years ago, when the City of Amarillo deepened a former playa, they announced that they knew people had stocked the old lake with fish even though you are not really supposed to do that. The new lake would NOT be stocked. (I suspect it was filled with fish the instant the last city work-truck pulled out of the parking lot, given the orneryness of fisher-folk.) So perhaps the fish in the Greenways are reincarnated from the former-residents of the city lake.

‘Tis a mystery. πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Carp-nado?!?

  1. Couldn’t comment on your snippet for “When Chicken Feet Cross The Highway” so I’m posting here. I’ve got the Kindle short and am wondering if you’ll revisit these characters. I suspect the Sweeper would want a rematch. [Wink]

  2. When I was about twelve or fourteen I had a game warden inform me that there were no fish in the millpond I was getting ready to fish. (apparently that meant he didn’t need to check my license, since that is one of only two times I have talked to a game warden and he didn’t ask to see my license) Finally after seeing a fish jump while we were talking, he admitted that possibly some fishermen had tossed a few in the pond they had packed up from the river.

    Oh this was a pond we named The Cutthroat Pond, and was my absolute favorite place to fish as a kid. At the time I was talking to the warden I had been fishing it for several years (whenever I could convince my parents to give me a ride there, it was about an hour drive from home) and I had never failed to catch less than fifty fish a day whenever I fished it.

  3. A friend of mine posted a photo on Facebook (can’t find it now) showing small bluegill swimming across the sidewalk at LSU-Alexandria. IIRC, LSU-A is at least a half-mile of any permanent waterway.

Comments are closed.