Well, that explains . . .

why I’ve been missing the squirrels. As in, shooting at them and missing. Which is interesting, because as recently as two months ago, I’d get one shot kills probably 90% of the time, using a small air rifle at 10-20 yards. (It’s not personal, just Schloß Red policy. Squirrel commuting to the neighbor’s place? Fine, keep going. Squirrel digging up the plants, tearing holes in the yard, or trying to get into the attic? “Bampf.” A large cat and various raptors and buzzards take care of the recycling.)

Anyway, three weeks ago I was helping Dad Red clean the Redquarters firearms collection. At one point I tried sighting down the 30-06 and could not get the sights in focus. Hmmm. Tried with a second rifle and same problem. Tried using both eyes, one eye, other eye, nope, could not get a decent sight picture. The carbine was better, and pistols were fine.

So I went to the optometrist, who scolded me for not coming in sooner. (Hey, it’s only been four and a half years!)  “Have you been having trouble reading?” “Yes.” “How about distance vision?” “Maybe a little. It’s hard to tell.”  It turns out both my near and distant prescriptions needed major adjustment, and one eye had really shifted, which also explained why I’d been getting light-headed after reading for extended periods of time (inability to keep the focus correct and the difference made me wobbly). When I got the calibration target out for the squirrel gun, I was consistently off because of not being able to line the sights up properly. The new prescription should help matters. Oh, and the doc upped the power of my bifocals. Sigh.

 

